My dad was the lone man in a house with 4 strong-willed and stubborn women. Whenever I’d butt heads with my mom, my dad would give me sound advice: pick your battles.

I feel as though this is a philosophy I carry into my adult life. Sure, I’ve run across situations in my life where I become piss hot angry, but my dad’s voice in my head reminds me: pick your battles.

When my boyfriend decided that wearing an olive green shirt with dark green pants and a fishing cap was a good idea and insisted that he didn’t look like a dad going on a shopping trip to Bass Pro Shop, I heeded my father’s advice: pick your battles.

So, when a woman approached me today as I stood in the warm comfort of the doorway as my well-trained and perfectly obedient dog peed out in the frigid hale while I remained contentedly dry and reminded me that my dog must be leashed as per the leash law, I decided this was a time to heed my father’s advice and pick my battles.

Did I know that my dog should’ve been leashed? Of course. Did Jack run away when he was off leash? No. Did Jack pee promptly and then return to the door immediately after? Yes. Did he viciously impede on this woman’s space? No. Did Jack get any closer to this woman than he would have if he were on a leash? Not even close.

So, in other words, Jack in no way shape or form did anything to bother this woman than simply be off leash. He didn’t misbehave. He didn’t poop, and then I blatantly ignore it. He was a perfectly friendly dog taking a whiz while his owner remained proudly watching from the doorway admiring her hours and years of training it took in order to be able to do this.

Unfortunately, this woman decided it was a battle she wanted to pick. I don’t understand the point. Do I get that I didn’t follow the rules? Yes. I’m not saying I’m not at fault here. I’m just not sure what she was hoping to accomplish. Perhaps the idea that someone would break the rules was so far beyond her realm of comprehension that she simply had to stand up for what she felt was right. Perhaps she thought she’d make me second-guess my decision (she didn’t) or feel guilty (I’m not). Perhaps she had seen one too many dog owners abuse the leash law.

Who knows?

All I know is that if she doesn’t want to deal with dogs off leash in an apartment complex, maybe she should move someplace that’s not dog-friendly.

Just a thought. I don’t know, at least it’s one less battle she’d have to pick 🙂

Vicious, right?

 

7 thoughts on “Pick Your Battles

  1. Knowing which battles to pick allows us to stay sane and have friends! It is great advice. It is a close relative to advice my parents’ first landlord regularly espoused (ie, don’t get involved).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My dad is also the lone man with four women. I think your dad gave some solid advance. Sometimes it just isn’t worth your time to argue with someone. I have to remind myself of that quite frequently.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As the owner of a dog that runs away at any chance she gets I’m jealous of your well trained pet! We live in a rural area so she always comes back but … I’m a nervous wreck the whole time (20 minutes) she’s gone!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I always feel people need to say things sometimes just to make themselves feel better. It’s so obnoxious and hard to not hear/ignore when they make sure that they are heard and they won’t be ignored. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had random strangers feel the need to tell me how they would parent my kids or make strange remarks too about my kids not having socks or if I allow one out of the shopping cart…etc. I always wonder, who do you think you are helping?
    Little does she know you…this is a battle you DO pick!
    P.S. – AWWWWWW

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment