It’s impossible not to feel hopeful tonight.

A friend that I haven’t seen in a while walks in and drops the news, “I got let go today.”

My first instinct is to comfort him. However, he’s optimistic. He’s one of those rare people who knows that this was life’s way of saying, “A new opportunity is open for you. Now, go take advantage.”

I would be terrified. I would feel scared. Then, I look over at my dog, my friend, and my glass of wine and remember that I have everything in my life I need.

And he does too. He knows that adversity, above all, makes you more appreciative of what you have and what you are able to accomplish.

I have found love. I have passions. I have companionship and support. If life throws me a curveball, I’ll know how to drive it out of the park. I’ve had enough curveballs thrown in my life that I’ve learned how foul it off a few times until I get the pitch I want. (And I’m not just talking about all my years in softball)

Needless to say, I am hopeful that, no matter what life throws my way, I’ll make it, just like my friend.

Especially since tonight, we both have wine, dogs, and friendship to keep us smiling.

 

One thought on “Wine, Dogs, and Friendship

Leave a comment