Softball is many things. Today, softball is an itch you can’t scratch.

Have you ever needed to scratch an itch? It typically occurs on the soul of my foot, and it ALWAYS happens when I’m driving. I can feel it. It pesters me. It calls to me. It screams, “Scratch me! Tend to me! Pay attention to me!” I pound my foot on the baseboard of the car over and over again, but still, it isn’t satisfied. I try to distract my mind, but still, it festers. Finally, at a stop light, I take my shoe off, and I scratch.

My mom had Loyola’s first conference game streaming online yesterday. Immediately, I got the itch. I tried watching the game, but still, I itched. I tried talking softball, but still, I itched. I tried thinking about how cold it must’ve been for them as they played, I tried thinking about how many hours they would have to spend doing homework on the bus on the ride home, I tried thinking about how sore and tired they’d be when they got home. It didn’t matter…I still had the itch.

Only, there was no way for me to scratch it.

Softball is many things. Today, softball is an itch you can’t scratch.

5 thoughts on “Softball is an Itch You Can’t Scratch

  1. I watched my daughter attend her first travel softball practice today. I didn’t have an itch, but I had pride and lots of smiling I could not hide. 😉

    Like

    1. I’m still coaching and I play coed. But no, it doesn’t quite satisfy the itch in the same way. I need a good old fashioned college practice where I’m getting my butt whooped!

      Like

Leave a comment