Softball is many things. Today, softball is St. Patty’s Day.

For four years, St. Patrick’s day didn’t exist in my world of celebrations. Chicago’s biggest party? Guess what…I wasn’t invited. Why? One word: softball.

For four years, I moaned and groaned. I longed for the freedom from my commitment to have a night of fun, to be a part of the crowd.

For four years, I felt like I was missing out.

This weekend, I had my St. Patty’s day celebration. It was incredible. I was with great people, I had the freedom to enjoy Chicago’s biggest party, and I was finally on the guest list.

But now, as I reflect back on those four years, I never saw softball as an even better party.

See, people don’t tend to truly appreciate what they have until it’s taken away from them.

Today, I wish I could be on the field one last time. I’d give anything to suit up for one more game, one more practice, one more bus ride with the team.

Today, I know I’m missing out on one of the greatest experiences any athlete can ever dream of.

So, for four years, I always thought that St. Patrick’s day was a party I was missing out on by being at softball.

Today, I know different. Because…

Softball is many things. Today, softball is St. Patrick’s Day.

 

5 thoughts on “Softball is St. Patty’s Day

  1. There are so many ways and reasons to celebrate and I am guessing softball gave you many. It is a strange new world for you PS (Post Softball), and I am sure you would not trade those memories for all the parties you missed. Treasure the memories and keep making new ones.

    Like

Leave a comment