Softball is many things. Today, softball is a hot shower.

I return home from a draining weekday game with muscles hurting that I never knew existed and I start thinking of all of the homework that I still have and wasn’t able to do because I had softball and now I’m too tired to do any of it because I’m exhausted, and I need to get it done tonight, but I don’t know if I’ll be able to stay up because I have to make it to class on time in the morning, and UGH tomorrow is my early class, but wait I have 30 minutes free after class and before practice, but who am I kidding I’m going to need to catch up on sleep, but I really don’t want to do it now because I haven’t even eaten anything since 2:00 p.m. and it’s already 8:00 p.m. and this paper is going to take me at least two hours, but I need to eat and I’d like to at least watch ONE episode of Psych before I get started, so that means I probably won’t get started on it until around 9:00 or 10:00 tonight, which means I won’t get to bed until at least midnight, but I have to still read 20 pages, so maybe I’ll wake up at 6:00 am to read a few chapters before I have to go to class so I’m prepared, but MAN am I going to be tired tomorrow…I’ll take a shower first and then get going…

I light a candle, turn on my favorite music, and step into the shower.

I close my eyes. The candlelight dances behind the curtain casting shadows on my eyelids. My playlist echoes the drum of the water. The steam relaxes my pulsing muscles. The sound of the water drowns the thoughts in my head. Suddenly my mind is silent. Suddenly, everything I was worried about disappears. In this moment, I don’t have to start my homework, I don’t have to worry about how exhausted I am, I don’t have to think about my responsibilities, what I’ll eat for dinner, or when I have to wake up. I just feel the hot water massage my back as my mind takes a break.

During season, the shower was one of the few places I could ever escape the worries, the pressures, and the stresses of the day.

Tonight, after working out for the first time in a LONG time, I took a hot shower to relax my muscles, and my mind from thinking about all of the different places I’ll be sore in the morning, and how awful it will be.

Showers are the best way for me to clear my mind and attempt to pause my life in the serenity beneath the water. They’re also a great place to go for when you need a good cry 🙂

Softball is many things. Today, softball is a hot shower.

2 thoughts on “Softball is a Hot Shower

  1. I loved the pacing of your beginning where you were remembering the feelings of all those demands piling up on you- I could feel the franticness! A good, hot shower is a great cure for so many things- and feels good even when things feel right.

    Like

Leave a Reply

